For a quote, click your desired coverage icon below to submit your info or Click & Chat live support on the right column to chat live with a local Agent for an instant chat quote! 
 

Providing coverage in WA, OR, CA, ID, CO, and AZ
postheader postheader postheader postheader postheader postheader

 
Many recreational boaters in Washington are required to complete an approved boating safety education course and carry a Washington State Boater Education Card

Whether you cruise, sail, kayak, fish, or do yoga on a stand up paddle board, you need to know the laws and basics of boating safety. 
    logo w-tag

    The Washington State Boater Education Card is valid for your lifetime and meets requirements for recreational boating in Canada and many other states.

    And even if you are not required to carry the card, we encourage you to take an education course. Educated boaters are safer boaters. 

    1. Who Needs It
    2. How to Get It
    3. How to Replace It
    1. Who Needs It

    You are
     required to have a Boater Education Card if you fit the following criteria.
    • You operate a vessel with a 15-horsepower (or greater) motor.
    • You were born after Jan. 1, 1955.
    • You are 12 years of age or older.
    You are exempt if you fit the following criteria.
    • You were born before Jan. 1, 1955.
    • You are able to show a valid commercial license.
    • You are able to show a valid Coast Guard Marine Operator License. 
    • You are renting a boat, have completed a watercraft safety checklist provided by the vendor and been issued a temporary card which you must carry with you.
    • You operate a government vessel exempt from state registration.
    • You are practicing or engaging in a permitted racing event, as long as permitting documentation is available upon inspection at the event site.
    You have a 60-day exemption period if you fit the following criteria. 
    • You are visiting from another state or country and boating for less than 60 days. After 60 days you must have a Washington state Boater Education Card.
    • You hold a valid boater education card from another state. You will need to contact us to confirm if it's valid.
    • You have recently purchased your boat and can show the bill of sale with the date of purchase. After 60 days you must have a Washington state Boater Education Card.
    1. How to Get It


    1. Study and pass a state-approved boating safety course or equivalency exam from
    one of the following options:

    2. Receive a Certification of Completion.

      • Once you pass your course or equivalency exam, you will be provided with a Certificate of Completion. If provided with an electronic copy, be sure to print it. This is your proof of passing the course.
      • Your certificate serves as a temporary card for 60 days, beginning the date of course completion. After 60 days, you must carry a permanent Washington State Boater Education Card when operating a powered watercraft of 15-horsepower or more.
    3. Submit a Boater Education Card Application and a copy of your certificate along with
    a check or money order for $10 to:

    Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission
    Boating Program
    P.O. Box 34333
    Seattle, WA 98124-1333

    Your card will be mailed within two to four weeks. You are encouraged to contact us if you haven't received your card within 30 days atboating@parks.wa.gov or (360) 902-8555.

    You have up to 60 days from the date of mailing in your application materials to notify us of the following:

      • The information on your card has an error.
      • You haven't received your card.
               After 60 days, you may be required to resubmit your application materials. 

    Do I need a Washington Boater Education Card if I already have one from another state?

    • If you have a boater education card from another state, contact our office to verify it’s valid in Washington.
    • If it's valid, then submit a Boater Education Card Application with a copy of your card and a $10 check or money order and you will be issued a Washington State Boater Education Card. 
     
    1. How to Replace It

    You may apply for a replacement Boater Education Card if your legal name has been changed, you need to correct personal information, or your card was lost, stolen, or destroyed. The fee for a replacement card is $5. 


    To receive a replacement card:

    1. Complete a Boater Card Replacement Affidavit 
    2. Submit your completed affidavit, along with a check or money order for $5, made payable to Washington State Parks via postal mail to: 
    Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission
    Boating Programs
    P.O. Box 34333
    Seattle, WA 98124-1333

    Please allow four weeks to process an affidavit and receive your replacement card. There is no temporary card available while you wait to receive your replacement. 
    Man driving a powerboat with a woman sitting close next to him and three kids sitting in the back.
    Share |


    No Comments


    Post a Comment
    Name
    Required
    E-Mail
    Required (Not Displayed)
    Comment
    Required


    All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
    Submission Validation
    Required
    CAPTCHA
    Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
     
    Enter the Validation Code from above.
    NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.
    Blog Archive


    View Mobile Version
       

    HOME PAGE ABOUT US GET A QUOTE REFER A FRIEND CONTACT US

    10530 19th Ave SE, Ste#101 | Everett, WA 98208 | Phone: (425) 513-6007 | Toll Free: (877) 757-3858 | Fax: (425) 338-0275
    Logo


    Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Blog Yelp